Erasmus Mundus MA in Information Technologies for Business Intelligence

Deadline: 14 December 2014
Open to: EU and non-EU students
Scholarship: Category A scholarship is 24,000 euros per year; Category B scholarship is 10,000 euros

Scholarship Description

The Erasmus Mundus Master’s Programme in Information Technologies for Business Intelligence (IT4BI) is designed to provide understanding, knowledge and skills in this broad scope of fields. Its main objective is to train computer scientists who understand and help develop the strategies of modern enterprise decision makers. Erasmus Mundus programme for masters scholarships is available for European students and Non European students. Scholarship is awarded to pursue two years IT4BI masters program at Free University of Brussels (ULB) in Belgium, University of Tours (UFRT) in France, Ecole Centrale Paris (ECP) in France, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) in Spain and Technical University of Berlin (TUB) in Germany.


To apply to IT4BI, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • To have obtained a Bachelor’s degree (i.e., the equivalent of 180 ECTS) with a major in computer science, from an accredited university.
  • To be able to demonstrate proficiency in English by means of an internationally recognised test equivalent to level B2 in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).


The scholarship covers tuition fees and includes a monthly allowance and a contribution to installation and mobility costs. The part of the scholarship corresponding to the tuition fees is directly taken by the consortium. There are two types of scholarships available:

  • Category A Scholarships: they can be granted by the Consortium to non-European students. Category A scholarship is 24,000 euros per year. For the first edition of the programme (2012-2014), the consortium granted 9 category A scholarships. The remainder of the scholarship will be allocated to selected students in twelve monthly installments of 1000 euros for non-European students for living allowance –  plus two yearly installments of 4000 euros destined to cover mobility costs.
  • Category B Scholarships: they can be granted by the Consortium to European students. Category B scholarship is 10,000 euros per year plus 3,000 euros for students realizing their Master Thesis in a third country associated partner. For the first edition of the programme (2012-2014), the consortium granted  7 category B scholarships. The remainder of the scholarship will be allocated to selected students in twelve monthly installments 500 euros for European students for living allowance.


Interested students can apply via their online application system. Before you start, be sure you have the following documentation (all in English):

  • Cover letter (stating your interest, your possibilities in the Master, and anything you consider relevant to know for the Selection Committee);
  • Passport;
  • Photo (passport size);
  • CV;
  • Bachelor certificate (at least 180 ECTS);
  • Official transcripts;
  • Proof of English proficiency;
  • Proof of contracts.

For more information please visit the official website and check the FaQ


GEM MSc course – 2015( INTAKE)Application


This Masters Course has been successfully implemented over the last ten years with funding from the Erasmus Mundus Programme. Throughout this period, the course has demonstrated high quality. We are therefore pleased to announce that “Erasmus+ scholarships” will be available for the 2015 intake.

Check the Admission link to find out more about Admission Requirements, such as Academic level and background and English language prerequisites.

Visit the Fees and Funding page to find more information concerning the funding possibilities and financial details related to the course.

Via the Registration page you will find detailed instructions on how to apply online for the GEM course 2015-2017.


Erasmus+ Scholarship

If you wish to apply for an Erasmus+ scholarship, please note the following:

  • If you apply online before 1 December 2014, your application will automatically be considered for an Erasmus+ scholarship.
  •  Candidates who have applied for an Erasmus+ fellowship will be provisionally notified of the outcome by early March 2015. Following approval by the EU, the final outcome will be confirmed by mid-May 2015.
  •  Note that you can only submit a maximum of 3 EMMC applications

Netherlands Fellowship Programme (NFP)

Participants who receive NFP funding are required to spend either the first or second year at the University of Twente, Faculty of Geo-information Science and Earth Observation (ITC) in the Netherlands.

Other Scholarship Programmes

Candidates who wish to apply for alternative scholarships (for example, Netherlands Fellowship Programme, Erasmus Mundus Action 2, World Bank, etc.) may have to observe early deadlines and an early application is recommended.

Self-funded Applicants

Self-funded candidates starting at Lund University in Sweden can submit their applications until 1 June 2015.

Self-funded candidates starting at the University of Twente, Faculty of Geo-information Science and Earth Observation, the Netherlands can submit their applications until 1 July 2015.